Scholarships and awards

Accessible, generous and well supported


Generously funded scholarships and awards. Enquiries and applications to


There are two generously funded scholarships offered each year by NTGPE.

Professor Alan Walker Paediatric Scholarship

Dr Catherine Pendrey
2018 winnerDr Catherine Pendrey

I fundamentally believe that in order to close the gap of Indigenous health inequity it is critical to ensure to there are strong child health care services throughout the Northern Territory.


Professor Alan Walker is regarded as a champion of medicine in the field of paediatrics in the Northern Territory. This scholarship provides $5,000 for three GP registrars training with NTGPE who have an interest in further education in paediatrics, and who have demonstrated high standards of professional behaviour throughout their education and training.

Professor Walker was the head of paediatrics at the Royal Darwin Hospital from 1967 to 1996 and contributed significantly to the establishment of NTGPE in 2002 as the company’s first Chairperson of the Board.

Eligibility criteria:

Applicant must be enrolled in an NTGPE training program. This is a self-nominated scholarship.

Application dates:

Applications open: 8am, 1 April 2019.
Applications close: 4pm, 30 April 2019.

Examples of past recipients use of the money:

  • Advanced Paediatric Life Support course.
  • Purchase a Vorotek V Scope.
  • Diploma in Child Health Rural Emergency Obstetric Training.
  • Support Advanced Skill Training.


Ada Wilmadda Parry Aboriginal Health Scholarship

Dr Prashanti Manchkanti

Winner 2017Dr Prashanti Manchkanti

I would recommend any registrar to apply as it is a great opportunity to learn more about other aspects of Aboriginal community life by understanding other non-clinical projects that may already exist within communities or to support small-scale programs that communities and AMSs wish to develop to work towards locally-identified health goals.


Ada Wilmadda Parry was one of the first Cultural Educators at NTGPE. Ada advocates the importance of cultural training for general practitioners who work in the Northern Territory and is motivated to ensure Indigenous families don’t have to struggle to be understood culturally and linguistically by medical practitioners.

The Ada Wilmadda Parry Award provides $10,000 in financial support for the most innovative project proposal that:

  • focuses on improving cultural and linguistic understanding between Indigenous patients and general practitioners, and;
  • aims to create positive health change in the Northern Territory.

Eligibility criteria:

This is a self-nominated scholarship. Group and individual applicants can apply.

  • applicant must be enrolled in an NTGPE training program.
  • project must be completed within 12 months.
  • group applications must be signed by all members of the project group and accompanied by evidence of endorsement by either a relevant Indigenous leader or research mentor.

Application dates:

Applications open: 8am, 1 May 2019.
Applications close: 4pm, 30 May 2019.

Examples of past recipients use of the money:

  • Project to improve diabetes control throughout the homelands.
  • Preparing cardiac patients for interstate surgery.
  • A palliative care project that returned patients to country to die.
  • Horse ride that focussed on healthcare being a holistic rather than in the confines of a clinic setting.



There are two prestigious awards offered each year by NTGPE.

Training Post of the Year Award


The Training Post of the Year Award acknowledges the crucial role GP supervisors, practice managers and all training post staff play in supporting a GP registrar during their training.

Eligibility criteria:

  • winner must be an accredited NTGPE training post.
  • winner must have demonstrated outstanding performance in the areas of;
-GP supervisor availability.
-Teaching delivered within the training post.
-Overall GP registrar support.
-Commitment to GP registrar training.

Who can nominate:

GP registrars and NTGPE staff can submit nominations for a training post they believe is deserving of the award.

Nomination dates:

Nominations open: 8am, 8 July 2019.
Nominations close: 4pm, 9 August 2019.


Dr Debbie Stach GP Registrar of the Year award


This award celebrates the life of Dr Debbie Stach, who died tragically in a car accident in 2004 soon after completing her GP training with NTGPE. Debbie was an impressive young doctor whose commitment to Indigenous health made her stand out among her peers.

Deb’s greatest gift was her sense of humanity. Her peaceful manner and her perceptive insight into the world around her, allowed her to connect with and understand people of many different backgrounds. This quality, combined with her desire to live life well, made her a great doctor and a wonderful healer.

This $10,000 cash prize is awarded annually to a GP registrar who:

  • has an outstanding approach to medicine;
  • has demonstrated a commitment to improving Indigenous health outcomes in the Northern Territory, and;
  • has demonstrated an outstanding approach to professionalism in their work, education and training environments.

Eligibility criteria:

  • nominee must be enrolled in an NTGPE training program;
  • historically, this prize has been awarded to an individual who has demonstrated their commitment to working in the NT after the completion of their GP training with NTGPE.

Who can nominate:

GP supervisors, GP registrars and colleagues can submit nominations for an individual they believe is deserving of the award.

Nomination dates:

Nomination open: 8am, 8 July 2019
Nomination close: 4pm, 9 August 2019